Leadership Excellence: Around the world in 480 minutes

December 15, 2021 | General

Staufen BestPractice Tour 

Transformation of the economy and society is gaining more and more momentum. The dynamics of change require “effective leadership” from a company’s management – especially in times of rapidly changing conditions. All levels of a company are put to the test: What is being preserved and what needs to be changed to ensure the success of the organization? How can employees get involved in achieving the company’s goals in a climate of cooperation and trust? 

In the full-day Staufen workshop “Leadership Excellence” at the end of November, participants gained insight into the individual levels and framework conditions of leadership. The workshop took place virtually, as all live offerings of this year’s BestPratice Day unfortunately had to be postponed to summer 2022 due to the Corona pandemic. In the workshop, the participants then worked out in three groups, based on the Staufen Leadership Framework, how to succeed in “leading yourself,” “leading others” and “leading an organization.” 

Afterwards, the participants went on a virtual international BestPractice Tour around the globe, which was also originally planned as such. On this trip, successful managers from different areas described the projects they implemented together with Staufen. At Rittal, MTU Aero Engines, Endress+Hauser and Embraer, up to 100 “passengers” gained insights into leadership initiatives and new plant organizations. 

Participants of the Staufen BestPractice Tour

Rittal: Lean Transformation as a holistic process

After the virtual take-off, the first stop was Rittal in China. The largest company in the German Friedhelm Loh Group produces housings for air conditioning units, control cabinets and IT infrastructure at its Shanghai site. The company identified some fundamental flaws that had caused productivity to decline year over year. 

Michael Galler, Vice President Operations, presented the Lean Transformation in detail with regards to the structure of the organization, the strategy and the culture of the company. Cultural change played a prominent role, both among managers and employees. Guiding principles were developed for both, which today stand for continuous optimization in daily cooperation.  

Lean Transformation led to a measurable increase in performance at Rittal within five years. Michael Galler: “We have made holistic advancements as a result.” Among other things, the employee turnover rate was reduced by 68 percent and customer complaints dropped by 28 percent. Lean Transformation also brought enormous improvements in lead times, reliability and costs. 

MTU Aero Engines: Shop Floor Management improves competitiveness 

Back in Germany, the participants took a company tour of engine manufacturer MTU Aero Engines in Munich. There, they learned from Ulrich Peters, Head of Production, and René Rohne, Director Continuous Improvement Program, how all levels of the management system have been carefully reviewed in recent years and, with the help of Shop Floor Management, have been developed into a very efficient tool that helps the company position itself for the future in a competitive environment.  

Shop Floor Management was developed in close consultation with all stakeholders in order to achieve a sustainable impact. Today, key figures are communicated transparently and used to control daily processes. Ulrich Peters: “It was important for our success that we flexibly adapted the tool to the needs of individual departments so that it would be accepted. For example, in some of our administrative departments, the tool is called Office Management instead of Shop Floor Management. Just a little thing, but it feels better for people that way.” 

Ulrich Peters, Head of Production, MTU Aero Engines and René Rohne, Director Continuous Improvement Program, MTU Aero Engines

Endress+Hauser: One-piece flow ensures greater efficiency

From Munich, we flew over the Alps to Endress+Hauser in Pessano. Gianfranco Migliarotti, CFO & HR Director gave the participants a virtual tour of the Italian division of the Swiss supplier of equipment for process engineering. Temperature measuring instruments are manufactured in Pessano. “When we started the transformation, we were already successful. But we have improved our performance even further,” says the CFO. “To do that, we thought about a completely new model of the factory.” 

The production processes were converted to one-piece flow. As in many small mini-factories, agile teams act autonomously today. Shop Floor Management enables managers and employees to manage potential performance deviations on a daily basis and initiate targeted countermeasures. 

Giancarlo Oriani, General Manager, Staufen Italia and Gianfranco Migliarotti, HR Director & CFO, Endress+Hauser

Embraer: Getting through the crisis thanks to Lean Management

The last stop took the participants to Brazil to aircraft manufacturer Embraer. Francisco Gomes Neto, President & CEO gave an impressive description of how the Corona consequences (lockdown, travel restrictions, etc.) have affected the entire aircraft industry and thus also his company. But that was not all: In the middle of the pandemic, an intended joint venture with Boeing failed. 

Embraer CEO explained how the company has held its own during this dual crisis: “Focusing on lean principles has helped Embraer recover,” he said. “We have a disciplined team of 18,000 employees who are all connected and focused on the company’s results.” That helped the aircraft maker write black figures again. 

Francisco Gomes Neto, President & CEO, Embraer, Remco Peters, Partner, Staufen.AG, and Dario Spinola, General Manager, Staufen.Táktica

Conclusion 

After landing, the participants had three key insights in their luggage: 

  • Excellent processes require excellent leadership for sustainability in performance and culture. 
  • Companies need a holistic strategic approach that includes structures, processes and cultural aspects. 
  • Lean Transformation requires time and energy at all levels of the organization. 

More interesting topics

Contact us

Want to learn more about Lean Transformation and operational excellence? We look forward to speaking with you. 

Remco Peters

Remco Peters, Partner, STAUFEN.AG

Eric Timmer, Senior Expert, STAUFEN.AG

Stay up to date

Subscribe to our newsletter

Leadership Excellence: In 480 Minuten um die Welt

Dezember 15, 2021 | Akademie, Leadership und Organisationsentwicklung

Staufen BestPractice Tour 

Die Transformation von Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft gewinnt mehr und mehr an Fahrt. Die Dynamik des Wandels erfordert vom Management eines Unternehmens „wirksame Führung“ – besonders in Zeiten sich schnell ändernder Rahmenbedingungen. Alle Ebenen eines Unternehmens stehen dabei auf dem Prüfstand: Was wird bewahrt und was muss verändert werden, um den Erfolg der Organisation sicherzustellen? Wie werden Mitarbeitende in einem Klima von Kooperation und Vertrauen zum Erreichen der Unternehmensziele mitgenommen? 

Im ganztägigen Staufen-Workshop „Leadership Excellence“ Ende November erhielten die Teilnehmenden zunächst Einblicke in die einzelnen Ebenen und Rahmenbedingungen von Führung. Der Workshop fand komplett virtuell statt, da alle Live-Angebote des diesjährigen BestPractice Day aufgrund der Coronapandemie leider in den Sommer 2022 verschoben werden mussten. Im Workshop erarbeiteten die Teilnehmenden anhand des Staufen Leadership Framework in drei Gruppen, wie es gelingen kann, „sich zu führen“, „andere zu führen“ und „eine Organisation zu führen“. 

Anschließend ging es auf eine – auch ursprünglich so geplante – virtuelle internationale BestPractice Tour rund um den Globus. Erfolgreiche Führungskräfte aus unterschiedlichen Bereichen schilderten an verschiedenen Stationen dieser Reise ihre gemeinsam mit Staufen umgesetzten Projekte. Bei Rittal, MTU Aero Engines, Endress+Hauser und Embraer erhielten die in der Spitze bis zu 100 „Fluggäste“ Einblicke in Leadership-Initiativen und neue Werksorganisationen. 

Teilnehmende der Staufen BestPractice Tour

Rittal: Lean Transformation als ganzheitlicher Prozess

Nach dem virtuellen Take-off ging es zunächst nach China zu Rittal. Das größte Unternehmen der deutschen Friedhelm Loh Group produziert am Standort Shanghai Gehäuse für Klimageräte, Schaltschränke und IT-Infrastruktur. Das Unternehmen hatte einige grundsätzliche Fehler ausgemacht, die dazu führten, dass die Produktivität von Jahr zu Jahr nachließ. 

Michael Galler, Vice President Operations, stellte die Lean Transformation bezogen auf die Struktur der Organisation, die Strategie und die Kultur des Unternehmens detailliert vor. Eine herausragende Rolle spielte die Änderung der Kultur, sowohl bei den Führungskräften als auch bei den Angestellten. Für beide Gruppen wurden Leitsätze entwickelt, die heute in der täglichen Zusammenarbeit für eine kontinuierliche Optimierung stehen.  

Die Lean Transformation führte bei Rittal innerhalb von fünf Jahren zu einer messbaren Leistungssteigerung. Michael Galler: „Wir haben dadurch ganzheitliche Fortschritte erzielt.“ So wurde unter anderem die Fluktuationsrate der Beschäftigten um 68 Prozent gesenkt und Kundenbeschwerden gingen um 28 Prozent zurück. Auch bei Durchlaufzeit, Verlässlichkeit und Kosten brachte die Lean Transformation zum Teil enorme Verbesserungen.

MTU Aero Engines: Shopfloor Management verbessert Wettbewerbsfähigkeit 

Zurück in Deutschland, machten die Teilnehmenden eine Firmentour beim Triebwerkshersteller MTU Aero Engines in München. Dort erfuhren sie von Ulrich Peters, Head of Production, und René Rohne, Director Continuous Improvement Program, wie alle Ebenen des Führungssystems in den vergangenen Jahren sorgfältig überprüft und mithilfe von Shopfloor Management zu einem sehr effizienten Instrument entwickelt wurden, das dem Unternehmen hilft, sich für den Wettbewerb zukunftsfähig aufzustellen.  

Das Shopfloor Management wurde in enger Abstimmung mit allen Beteiligten entwickelt, um eine nachhaltige Wirkung zu erzielen. Kennzahlen werden heute transparent kommuniziert und zur Steuerung der täglichen Prozesse genutzt. Ulrich Peters: „Dabei war es wichtig für den Erfolg, dass wir das Tool flexibel an die Bedürfnisse der einzelnen Abteilungen angepasst haben, damit es angenommen wurde. So heißt das Tool beispielsweise in einigen unserer administrativen Abteilungen Office Management statt Shopfloor Management. Nur eine kleine Sache, aber für die Menschen fühlt es sich so besser an.“ 

Ulrich Peters, Head of Production, MTU Aero Engines und René Rohne, Director Continuous Improvement Program, MTU Aero Engines

Endress+Hauser: One-piece-flow sorgt für mehr Effizienz

Von München ging es einmal über die Alpen nach Pessano zu Endress+Hauser. Gianfranco Migliarotti, CFO & HR Director, führte die Teilnehmenden virtuell durch die italienische Division des Schweizer Anbieters von Geräten für die Verfahrenstechnik. In Pessano werden Temperatur-Messgeräte gefertigt. „Als wir mit der Transformation begannen, waren wir bereits erfolgreich. Aber wir haben unsere Leistung noch weiter gesteigert“, so der CFO. „Dafür haben wir über ein komplett neues Modell der Fabrik nachgedacht.“ 

Die Produktionsprozesse wurden auf One-Piece-Flow umgestellt. Wie in vielen kleinen Mini-Fabriken handeln agile Teams heute autonom. Shopfloor Management ermöglicht es Führungskräften und Mitarbeitenden, mögliche Leistungsabweichungen täglich zu managen und gezielt Gegenmaßnahmen einzuleiten.

Giancarlo Oriani, General Manager, Staufen Italia and Gianfranco Migliarotti, HR Director & CFO, Endress+Hauser

Embraer: Dank Lean Management gut durch die Krise

Die letzte Station führte die Teilnehmenden nach Brasilien zum Flugzeugbauer Embraer. Francisco Gomes Neto, President & CEO, schilderte eindrücklich, wie sich die Coronafolgen (Lockdown, Reisebeschränkungen etc.) auf die gesamte Flugzeugindustrie und damit auch auf sein Unternehmen ausgewirkt haben. Doch damit nicht genug: Mitten in der Pandemie scheiterte auch noch ein angestrebtes Joint Venture mit Boeing. 

Der Embraer-CEO erläuterte, wie sich das Unternehmen in dieser doppelten Krise behauptet hat: „Die Fokussierung auf Lean-Prinzipien hat Embraer geholfen, sich zu erholen“, so der CEO. „Wir haben ein diszipliniertes Team von 18.000 Mitarbeitenden, die alle miteinander verbunden sind und sich auf die Ergebnisse des Unternehmens fokussieren.“ Das half dem Flugzeugbauer, wieder in die schwarzen Zahlen zu fliegen. 

Francisco Gomes Neto, President & CEO, Embraer, Remco Peters, Partner, Staufen.AG, and Dario Spinola, General Manager, Staufen.Táktica

Fazit 

Nach der Landung hatten die Teilnehmenden drei zentrale Erkenntnisse im Gepäck: 

  • Exzellente Prozesse benötigen exzellente Führung für Nachhaltigkeit bei Performance und Kultur. 
  • Unternehmen benötigen eine ganzheitliche strategische Herangehensweise, die Strukturen, Prozesse und kulturelle Aspekte beinhaltet. 
  • Die Lean Transformation erfordert Zeit und Energie auf allen Ebenen des Unternehmens.

Weitere relevante Themen

Jetzt kontaktieren

Sie wollen mehr erfahren über Lean Transformation und Operational Excellence? Wir freuen uns auf das persönliche Gespräch mit Ihnen. 

Remco Peters

Remco Peters, Partner, STAUFEN.AG

Eric Timmer, Senior Expert, STAUFEN.AG

Bleiben Sie auf
dem aktuellen Stand.

Zum Newsletter anmelden